Skepticism, Social Justice, & Legalization

Legalization is the number one issue in the cannabis community and its an issue close to my heart as well. Besides valuing my own autonomy, the millions of people who have been incarcerated for non-violent drug offense represents a grave injustice to me. The “war on drugs” is not only socially counter productive, it is also deeply unethical and enforced in a racist and classist manner. The “war on drugs” is much more than a metaphorical war, it is war with real casualties, real bodies. Lives that could have been saved if we acted differntly, if we chose to extend a hand rather than a handcuff.

Shane Brady has been writing a great series on applied skepticism over on his blog, in his latest post he tackles the issue of legalization in a very blunt manner that I love,

Legalizing marijuana is a pretty popular idea, especially in younger demographics.  I go a step further: legalize it all.  Pot, heroin, coke, crack, meth, etc, make it all legal.  My view is that the government has no right to tell me what I can and cannot consume as long as I’m not hurting anyone.  If the government feels the need to involve itself in the consumption of narcotics, it’s participation should be limited to treatment, not incarceration.

When I was younger, I was hesitant to open the floodgates to legalizing drugs.  I couldn’t get past the thought that people would do drugs more often if drugs were legal.  Then I went to college…

Please read the read of Shane’s post here: Applied Skepticism: Example 3 – Legalization of Drugs

Leave a Reply

